Cello Sonata in F Major, Op. 5, No. 1
Cello and Piano
Series: Henle Music Folios
Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Format: Softcover
Score and Solo Part
Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Editor: Jens Dufner
The two Sonatas op. 5 were written in 1796 expressly for the young Beethoven's performance with the cello virtuoso Jean Louis Duport at the Berlin court. That he wasn't eclipsed by the latter was ensured by the extremely scintillating piano part, with which Beethoven the pianist was able to present himself in the best light. Opening with a slow introduction, the Allegro of the F-major sonata dazzles with its abundance of melodies. The following Rondo weds musical wit with playfulness, guaranteeing the sonata's special popularity to this day. The Urtext edition by Jens Dufner is based on his research for the Critical Report of the Beethoven Complete Edition and thus features a musical text at the highest scholarly level. In the preface and Critical Report, he outlines the genesis and source situation of the sonata. Ian Fountain and David Geringas provide the fingerings.
$13.95 (US)
Inventory #HL 51481471
UPC: 840126932928
Publisher Code: HN1471
Width: 9.0"
Length: 12.0"
62 pages
Related Item for Cello Sonata in F Major, Op. 5, No. 1
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
No