Allegro Appassionato Op. 43
for Cello and Piano
Series: Henle Music Folios
Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Score and Solo Part
Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
Editor: Peter Jost
At the beginning of the 1870s, Saint-Saëns displayed a particular partiality for the violoncello. He composed his first cello sonata in December 1872, immediately after having completed the first cello concerto. It was presumably directly after this that he wrote the “Allegro appassionato” for cello and piano op. 43 that also appeared in a version for orchestra three years later. We do not know why he wrote the work, but it is likely that after having written two weighty works for cello, Saint-Saëns wanted to write something “easier” that was also suitable as an encore. David Geringas kindly provided the fingering and bowing for the brilliant cello part.
$13.95 (US)
Inventory #HL 51481227
UPC: 888680042141
Publisher Code: HN1227
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"
11 pages
Related Item for Allegro Appassionato Op. 43
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
No