Quartets for Flute, Violin, Viola, and Violoncello
Series: Henle Music Folios
Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Format: Softcover
Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Editor: Henrik Wiese
A very readable foreword and extensive Critical Commentary with all necessary information enrich this Urtext edition by master Munich flautist and Mozart expert Henrik Wiese. One may learn there, for instance, that there are some peculiarities in the transmission history of Mozart's flour flute quartets: one quartet (C Major, Anh. 171 [K. 285b]) is in all likelihood falsey attributed and thus not by Mozart at all, another (G Major, K. 285a) survives in only two movements, and peculiarly at that, raising at least some doubts about the established version, and a third flute quartet, though doubtless by Mozart, remains completely misdated in the Kochel catalog (that in A Major, K. 298, composed in 1786 not 1778). Only the first flute quartet, in D Major (K. 285), can be dated clearly, to Mozart's stay in Mannheim in 1777. There he had fallen hopelessly in love with Aloysia Weber, the elder sister of Costanze who years later would become his wife. This masterful edition is worth acquiring for this work alone.
View Songlist
$32.95 (US)
Inventory #HL 51480635
UPC: 884088177553
Publisher Code: HN635
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"
94 pages
Related Item for Quartets for Flute, Violin, Viola, and Violoncello
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
No