Complete Piano Sonatas – Volume I
Piano Solo

This item is currently on back order and expected in stock soon. You may place an order which will be filled as soon as the item arrives in stock.

Series: Henle Music Folios
Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Format: Softcover
Composer: Joseph Haydn
Editor: Georg Feder
Among Joseph Haydn's extensive oeuvre is an almost inexhaustible stock of piano sonatas. With altogether over 50 works, they form a significant segment of his overall output. One of this composer's great achievements is that in these sontatas – as in many other genres, such as symphonies and string quartets – Haydn bridges discrepant stylistic eras, and lays the founding stone for the classical piano sonata.

Next to 25 complete sonatas in the Appendix, Volume I also contains five single pieces (that had perhaps once been planned as sonatas), and the beginnings of seven lost sonatas.

A first group of nine sonatas, which was no doubt intended for the more proficient student, was likely written in the 1750s, when Haydn was still eking out a living as “chamber servant” to the composer Nicola Porpora, or as a freelance artist.

Several of these pieces cannot be entirely authenticated without the shadow of a doubt.

A second group, also consisting of nine works, albeit considerably easier “little” sonatas, leads us into the 1760s.The last group of sonatas in the book comprises seven sonatas which Haydn composed between 1765 and 1772, thus already during his time of employment as Prince Esterházy's Kapellmeister. They are finest Haydn, full of surprise effects and pianistic refinements.
View Songlist
$49.95 (US)
Inventory #HL 51480238
UPC: 884088174361
Publisher Code: HN238
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"
202 pages
Related Item for Complete Piano Sonatas – Volume I
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
No